University News

University Chapter of Forensic Science Honor Society Inducts Students

Published: May 14, 2017 | Categories: Arts and Sciences, All News
Delta Delta logo

The Western New England University Chapter of Delta Delta Epsilon, the International Forensic Science Honor Society, inducted five students in the Center for Sciences and Pharmacy earlier this month. They included, juniors Cailee D’Amico, James Marzelli, Melissa Pannone, Sean Morris, and Nilsa Salas. (seen above)

President Anthony Caprio, Dean Saeed Ghahamani, and Associate Professor Dr. John Drawec presented each of the inductees with their membership certificate. President Caprio also presented last year’s honor society inductees, who are now graduating seniors, with a Delta Delta Epsilon Medallion.

After a rigorous approval process in 2015, Western New England University applied for and established a campus chapter in Delta Delta Epsilon, becoming the 15th chapter. Currently there are only 27 chapters throughout the world. The Delta Delta Epsilon Honor Society was created in 2010 by the Council of Forensic Science Educators (COFSE), to stimulate academic achievement, promote community understanding, and advance the fields of forensic science.

“Our Forensic Science programs have been carefully developed over the last several years for future accreditation in the Forensic Science Education Programs Accreditation Commission (FEPAC),” explained Drawec. "adding required laboratory components and more advanced scientific and mathematical approaches to forensic analysis, and new non-criminal justice courses that are required for all forensic scientists." 

The graduating senior students also presented gifts of appreciation to four of their instructors who "were alway available to help the us and guide us through the demanding academics of forensic science," including Dr. Anne Poirot, Dr. Emily Ford, Dr. Alexander Wurm, and Dr.John Drawec.  

View more photos of the Delta Delta Epsilon induction ceremony here.